The Garden: End of Times, Beginning of Times

The ARoS Triennial

Published for the first ARoS Triennial – a new international contemporary art exhibition that will be presented every three years in Aarhus, Denmark, in partnership with ARoS Art Museum.

‘We are rethinking nature and culture to check our balance between progress and preservation and to make innovative and bold decisions about the way we shape our ecological future.’ – Rebecca Matthews (CEO of European Capital of Culture, Aarhus 2017).

This is a beautiful, large-format catalogue that explores the evolution of mankind’s relationship with the physical world over 400 years of art history, using ‘the gardenʼ as a symbol. It covers artworks from the baroque to contemporary art and from painting, sculpture and installation, to works that redefine the boundaries for art and nature.

The Garden – End of Times, Beginning of Times, uses human coexistence with and view on nature, indicating how varying world views (religious, political, ideological, cultural, or scientific) have had an impact on how nature has been represented in art through the ages.

The Garden is divided into three sections: the Past, the Present, and the Future. Artworks (existing and newly commissioned are exhibited at ARoS Aarhus Kunstmuseum and the city center, as well as across a 2.5-mile stretch of Aarhus’s coastline.

Featuring over 50 artists including: Edvard Munch, Asger Jorn, Thomas Struth, Agnes Denes, Mark DionDoug Aitken, Rirkrit Tiravania & Nikolaus Hirsh, Tue Greenfort, Simon Starling, Meg Webster, Doug Aitken, and SUPERFLEX.

English and Danish text.

Buy now
(Your order will be fulfilled by Ingram Publisher Services)