Jimmie Durham

Particle/Word Theory

‘Particle/Word Theory’ is Jimmie Durham’s third poem book after ‘Columbus Day’ (1983) and ‘Poems That Do Not Go Together’ (2012).

This new book contains 38 poems, written between 2014 and 2019, and 13 drawings.

Durham’s sculptures as well as his texts are made out of fragments, they are a lifelong artistic statement against monumentality.

The artist observes nature, thinks about the try to categorise and name nature and he reflects about unspectacular, daily behaviour of animals and humans – himself included.

In ‘Particle/Word Theory’ he cites also scientific studies, articles about brain and pain research – all this stands next to his own pain experience.

The book underlines a provocative sentence he wrote in 1998 – “Art and science are the same thing”.

Buy now
(Your order will be fulfilled by Ingram Publisher Services)

Welcome to our website.

Please note we are currently estimating that the last order dates before Christmas 2022 will be as follows:

European Orders: Thursday 8th December

UK and Rest of World: Monday 12th December.

We will update these as necessary.